Reiner Niehoff: Facades

The unusual intensity, which characterizes Ute Pleugers paintings, comes from both irritation and paradox. Her paintings of faςades have a massive quality but also a transparency, they look abandoned but don’t seem lonely, they encounter the observer as static objects, but also appear as phases of the movement of a great repetition. Without a privileged location, the observer is caught up in a world that fascinates us by eliminating everything human. Ute Pleugers images renounce any anthropomorphic standard and they acquire the glamor of a world that no longer carries the imprint of any subject. The images reveal a distanceless and intimate encounter, an expérience intérieure.

Ute Pleuger found the source of her formal language and her different standard in the music of Bach and Buxtehude. She studied organ on her own during her professional training at the Hochschule der Künste in Berlin. So it is no accident that the painting Paris Facade 1984 originally was entitled Fugue, and another painting is called Passacaglia, and that a twelve-drawing series to Messiaen’s La Nativité du Seigneur for organ is also to be found in her works. In fact, Ute Pleuger’s paintings possess a mathematical sensuousness which is stimulated by the large forms found in Bach and Buxtehude. One might even recognize an intimacy with polyphonic music in the inclination to expansive forms and the repeated linear-parallel superstructure: the rows of windows make us think of the many voices in a fugue, while the shutters also create imitative connections. The facades resemble so many music scores.

The facade has become the master subject of Ute Pleuger’s painting. The history of her already 10-year-long wrestling with this theme is also the history of its reductive transformation.

The external cause was the view from a Berlin backyard house on a small courtyard and the facade opposite it. In 1984 and 1985 then, a series of over 100 monochrome gouaches on packing paper with everchanging variations of the same view originated in Paris. These small-scale works live from the contrast between the space of the observer, present in the clearly delineated window transom and the observed faςade, which constantly changes in tandem with the light of the day and is transformed into an intense and strictly ordered inwardness. A constructive, but at the same time, urgent glance creates in theses gouaches a reflected, iridescent tension between the inner and the outer.

But her oil paintings are different. Her large facades do not stick with the opposition of construction and inwardness, of the window transom and the external house wall, but they inscribe the construction into the faςade itself. The object becomes more strongly seized by rational, constructive penetration instead of being opposed to it. The object itself achieves prominence. The window transom and the whole world of the observer are diminished and shrink into a shadow writing inscribed on the faςade across from them.

If in the gouaches the observer speaks for herself, in the sense that she is represented by the view on a facade rather than by the faςade itself, the oil paintings on the other hand work emphatically with the aspects of the facade itself: the windows, the shutters, the curtains, illuminated by the afternoon sunlight, point to the human beings who live behind the facades, signs of their inhabitants as if accidentally inscribed there on the facades.

A second look at the early facades recognizes the same constructive, universalizing gesture that captures the theme. Vertically, the rows of windows organized like lines of text create a clearly linear movement like writing; horizontally, the different sections of the buildings emphasize their block-like proportional order. Moreover, the large-scale figures are broken up into different parts. The segments of the facades, in asymmetrical order but strictly mathematically calculated, seem to force themselves out of their frame. The facades are no longer just abstract buildings but a rhythmical mass. The handling of the theme has gone beyond exact observation and become penetrated by a musical formal imagination.

In the later paintings, in the cycle Houses on the Slope (1987–88) and the facades of 1989–90, the naturalistic elements disappear. The shadow writing of the observer’s house-front as well as the play of shutters and curtains are renounced; transoms and ledges are lost. The facades become more are more obviously serial in nature. All the elements of the image become integrated in the constructive plan of the whole. The facade is no longer an occasion for naturalistic signs: no light now illuminates the object. Both merge into a monotonous movement of serial, identical elements. But the dynamic of this linear movement runs empty and turns into stasis, its opposite.

The central point of view of the observer also is dissolved. The facades, which seem to run into infinity like the parallel perspective of medieval paintings, lose their distance and move closer to the observer; at times they are magnified as if under an imaginary microscope, push out against the frame and seem to loom over the observer. In this way the impression arises of a space that is uniform, overwhelming and inescapable.

This twofold disappearance—that of the seeing eye as well of that which is seen, the absence of human beings and even of the signs that point toward them—corresponds to the withdrawal of the expressive subject from the act of painting in Ute Pleuger’s works. The absence of the subject is not only the theme of these works, it even extends to the way the materials are handled. Every expressive gesture is avoided. A unique technique which rubs, rather than applies, thinned-out color onto an acrylic undercoat allows the traces of the brush to become virtually invisible. Layers of color of luminous transparency appear instead of strokes. The compact solidity of the object thus becomes dissolved; the facade becomes an imagination upon the porous material surface of the canvas.

All together: the progressive reduction and transparency of the facade, the serial repetition of the basic elements in identical form, their linear sequences of equal validity, without climax, the enlargement of detail, the absence of humanity—combine to make the facades into overwhelming and fascinating, imaginary but extinguished, objects. The transformation of this theme does not discover new dimensions of the object, on the contrary: what is represented here closes itself off and goes silent. And there is where the paradox of Ute Pleugers works resides, the paradoxical art of a rediscovered but intimate strangeness.

From the catalogue: Ute Pleuger – Fassaden, Goldrausch I, Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin 1990, Translated by Robert Ball, Minneapolis
Back to cataloguesBack to picturesBack to biography
Bethanien1

Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin »Goldrausch I« · 1990

Reiner Niehoff: Fassaden

Die außergewöhnliche Intensität, welche die Bilder Ute Pleugers auszeichnet, entspringt der Irritation und dem Paradox. Ihre Fassadenbilder wirken massiv und zugleich transparent, sie scheinen verlassen und machen doch nicht einsam, sie begegnen dem Betrachter als statische Objekte, Gegenstände, und erscheinen doch als Abläufe, als Bewegung einer großen Wiederholung. Ohne Standort sieht man sich von einer Welt erfaßt, die gerade dadurch fasziniert, daß in ihr alles Menschliche ausgespart ist. Die Bilder Ute Pleugers verzichten auf ein anthropomorphes Maß, und sie gewinnen den Glanz einer Welt, die nicht mehr den Stempel des Subjekts trägt. Die Bilder eröffnen eine distanzlose und intime Erfahrung, eine éxperience intérieure.

Den Ursprung ihrer Formensprache und das andere Maß ihrer Bilder hat Ute Pleuger in der Musik Bachs und Buxtehudes gefunden. Parallel zu ihrer Ausbildung an der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin betrieb sie ein freies Musikstudium im Fach Orgel. Es ist also kein Zufall, wenn die Pariser Fassade von 1984 ursprünglich den Titel Fuge trug, wenn ein anderes Bild Passacaglia benannt ist, und wenn sich in ihrem Werk Zwölf Zeichenfolgen zu ‘La Nativité du Seigneur’ für Orgel von Olivier Messiaen finden. Tatsächlich besitzen die Bilder Ute Pleugers eine mathematische Sinnlichkeit, die von den Großformen Bachs und Buxtehudes angeregt ist; und vielleicht darf man die Nähe zur polyphonen Musik auch im Hang zur expansiven Form und in den wiederkehrend linear-parallelen Bildaufbauten erkennen: Fensterreihen lassen an fugale Mehrstimmigkeit denken, Fensterläden stiften imitatorische Bezüge. Die Fassaden gleichen imaginären Notenschriften.

Die Fassade ist das beherrschende Sujet der Malerei Ute Pleugers geworden. Die Geschichte der nun bald zehnjährigen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema ist zugleich die Geschichte seiner reduktiven Verwandlung.

Der Blick aus einer Berliner Hinterhauswohnung in einen kleinen Innenhof und auf die gegenüberliegende Fassade war der äußere Anlaß. 1984 und 1985 entstanden dann in Paris über einhundert monochrome Gouachen auf Packpapier als immer neue Varianten dieses einen Blickes. Die kleinformatigen Arbeiten leben vom Widerspiel zwischen dem Raum des Schauenden, präsent durch das deutlich akzentuierte Fensterkreuz, und der erblickten Fassade, die im wechselnden Licht des Tages changiert und in eine intensive, streng geordnete Innerlichkeit verwandelt wird. Ein konstruktiver und gleichsam inständiger Blick erzeugt in den Gouachen eine reflektierte und irisierende Spannung von Innen und Außen.

Anders die Ölbilder. Die großen Fassaden bleiben nicht bei der Gegenüberstellung von Konstruktion und Innerlichkeit, von Fensterkreuz und Hauswand stehen, sondern schreiben der Fassade selbst die Konstruktion ein. Der Gegenstand wird stärker von rationaler, konstruktiver Durchdringung ergriffen, nicht ihr entgegengestellt. Das Objekt erhält den Vorrang. Das Fensterkreuz und die ganze Welt des Schauenden verblaßt, zieht sich in eine Schattenschrift zusammen, die auf der gegenüberliegenden Fassade erscheint.

Spricht in den Gouachen der Schauende von sich, indem er weniger eine Fassade, als den Blick auf eine Fassade vorstellt, so arbeiten die Ölbilder zunächst betont mit dem, was die Fassaden selber zeigen. Fenster, Fensterläden, Vorhänge, durch nachmittagliches Sonnenlicht ausgeleuchtet, verweisen auf die Menschen, die hinter den Fassaden leben: Zeichen, von den Bewohnern wie zufällig in die Fassade eingeschrieben.

Ein zweiter Blick erkennnt in den frühen Fassaden zugleich den konstruktiv-ganzheitlichen Zug, mit dem das Sujet erfaßt wird. Vertikal schafft die reihenbetonte und zeilenähnliche Anordnung der Fenster eine klar lineare, schriftähnliche Bewegung; horizontal markieren unterschiedliche Gebäudeteile die blockhaft proportionierte Ordnung. Zudem werden die Großformate durch Mehrteiligkeit unterbrochen. Die Abschnitte der Fassade, zueinander asymmetrisch geordnet, doch mathematisch streng kalkuliert, drängen über sich hinaus. Die Fassaden erscheinen nicht als typisierte Gebäude, sondern als rhythmisierte Masse. Die aus der genauen Beobachtung erwachsene Behandlung des Sujets wird von musikalischer Formvorstellung durchdrungen.

In den späteren Bildern, in den Zyklen Häuser am Hang (1987–88) und in den Fassaden von 1989/90 verschwinden die naturalistischen Elemente. Auf die Schattenschrift der Hausfront des Schauenden wird ebenso verzichtet wie auf das Spiel mit Fensterläden und Vorhängen; Fensterkreuze und Gesimse verlieren sich. Die Fassaden werden zusehens serieller. Alle Elemente des Bildes werden in den konstruktiven Gesamtplan des Bildes integriert. Die Fassade ist nicht länger Anlaß für naturalistische Zeichen, das Licht beleuchtet nicht mehr den Gegenstand. Beide gehen jetzt in eine monotone Bewegung serieller, identischer Elemente über. Die Dynamik dieser linearen Bewegung aber läuft leer und schlägt in Statik um.

Aufgelöst wird auch der zentralperspektivische Standort des Betrachters. Die Fassaden, die in mittelalterlicher Parallelperspektive ins Unendliche zu laufen scheinen, verlieren zugleich die Distanz und rücken auf den Betrachter zu; bisweilen werden sie vergrößert wie unter einem imaginären Mikroskop, drängen gegen den Rahmen und überwachsen gewissermaßen den Betrachter. So entsteht der Eindruck eines gleichförmigen, übermächtigen und ausweglosen Raumes.

Diesem doppelten Verschwinden: des Schauenden als auch des Geschauten, dieser Absenz von Menschen und noch der Zeichen, die auf sie deuten, entspricht in den Bildern Ute Pleugers der Rückzug des expressiven Subjekts aus dem Akt des Malens selbst. Die Abwesenheit des Subjekts ist nicht nur Thema dieser Arbeiten, es reicht vielmehr bis in die Materialdisposition selbst hinein. Jeder ausdruckshafte Gestus ist vermieden. Eine eigenartige Technik, die Farbe stark verdünnt auf eine farblose Acrylgrundierung weniger aufzutragen als einzureiben, ermöglicht, Pinselspuren nahezu unsichtbar werden zu lassen. Statt des Strichs erscheinen fast durchsichtige Farbschichten von leuchtender Transparenz. Dadurch wird die kompakte Solidität des Gegenstandes aufgelöst; die Fassade wird zu einer Imagination auf der porigen, materialen Oberfläche der Leinwand.

Dieses zusammen: die fortschreitende Reduktion und Transparenz der Fassade, die serielle Wiederholung der Grundelemente in identischer Form, ihr linearer und höhepunktloser, gewissermaßen gleich-gültiger Ablauf, die ausschnitthafte Vergrößerung, die Abwesenheit von Menschen macht aus den Fassaden ebenso übermächtige wie faszinierende, imaginative wie erloschene Objekte. Die Verwandlung des Sujets deckt nicht neue Dimensionen des Gegenstandes auf, bringt nichts zur Erscheinung. Im Gegenteil: das Dargestellte verschließt sich und verstummt. Darin liegt das Paradoxe der Bilder Ute Pleugers. Es ist die paradoxe Kunst einer wiedergefundenen, intimen Fremdheit.

aus dem Katalog: Ute Pleuger – Fassaden, Goldrausch I, Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin 1990
Zurück zur KatalogübersichtZurück zum BildteilZurück zur Biografie
Bethanien1

Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin »Goldrausch I« · 1990