Barbara Straka: Art Forms of the New Nature

“When was Nature ever abolished in art?”
— Nietzsche

With the titles Suspension (Landscapes from Wiepersdorf, Brandenburg 1996–97) and Atlas of New Nature (2000–01), Ute Pleuger characterizes two wide-reaching, chronologically sequential cycles of her work. When she completed her cycle Serial Spaces: “City Landscapes” in the second half of the 90s, consisting of standardized architectural motifs of construction and housing, stamped half-tone pictures, and painted patterns, she next turned to the genre of landscape painting in the Suspension, but then, in her latest creative development in the Atlas, she returns to the prototypical individual forms. She is no longer developing her formal repertoire out of the “constructed world” of architecture, but out of the constitutive forms of nature.

The landscapes that originated in Wiepersdorf—about 300 images in the unfolding of the cycle—speak of a meditative, newly intensive experience of nature, which is reflected more in inward images than in representative reproductions: these are flat compositions, strictly partitioned into dark and light zones, with a suggestion of great depth and tranquility, bordering on abstraction. Infinite emptiness dominates, as far as the eye can reach, and time and space collapse into each other. The formal similarity of her painterly gesture replaces the patterned structure of her earlier forms. Using minimalistic means, such as the narrow stripes of light and dark on the edge of the flat spaces, a spatial illusion is produced in the image, which evokes in the observer a memory of things seen: landscapes, which, depending on topology, vegetation,utilization, time of day or season, demand categorization. Places, without orientation. Spatial order is suspended: now, after the austere patterned and linear composition of her earlier architecture, with these landscapes, Ute Pleuger opens up new horizons for herself: an expansion of the space and themes of her work. The choice of the title Suspension—reminiscent of Thomas Bernhard’s novel The Elimination—gives intuitive testimony of her doubts about the received concept of the landscape genre in contemporary art. In this way Ute Pleuger stresses “Horizons at the End of Nature and Art” (1), which can only be taken up and overcome as a subject for painting within a more global concept.

Ute Pleuger carries out this next phase in her work on the cycle The Atlas of New Nature, which originated at the beginning of 2000. Two-dimensional space takes the place of the deep-space composition of the “emptiness” of her Wipersdorf landscapes. Now the surface of the image is filled by sculpturally elaborated serial individual forms, comparable to fantastic microorganisms, newly discovered basic elements of archaic or future life-forms. The wealth of her formal invention seems endless: spirals and knots, cephalopods and protozoa, tetrapods, threadworms, snails, tubular and spherical beings. This myriad production of a “new nature” through art contains both utopian and threatening elements, which emerge in previously unknown and bizarre shapes. New species and mutations continually arise and occupy the worlds of the images like an army. None of these beings resembles any other, yet each one seems to know its own structural design and to take form following its own plan, its artistic “DNA.” They do not correspond to any external observation of nature but are an artistically and artificially created “new nature.” Perhaps they are creatures of a successful experimental protocol? But this process takes place, not in the laboratory, but in the artist’s studio. Here one can finally see how narrow is the dividing line between the “artistic” and the “artificial,” between art and natural science.

It is no accident that this Atlas of New Nature of Ute Pleuger originates at the beginning of the 21st century, which started with pioneering discoveries and creations of biotechnology, the emergence of bioethics, and the decipherment of the human genome: a challenge confronting the sciences as well as the humanities. A paradigm shift is also observable in the arts, in which the primacy of the historical element, so prominent and meaningful in the art of the last two decades of the 20th century, is yielding to the primacy of “nature.” Art must now measure itself and relate itself to nature. The notion of “sustainability,” requiring the unity of ecology and economy, is exemplary of this shift. The production of nature (genesis), in the sense of divine creation, and its representation (mimesis) in artistic secondary creation, is no longer the privilege of religion and art but has become a real scientific possibility. What Goethe dreamed of in Faust, when the homunculus was generated in the test tube–(“what mysteries of nature we praised, we now dare to test rationally, and what she (nature) came to form, we shall crystallize”)—has become reality with the cloning of the first living things at the beginning of our century.

Ute Pleuger’s cycle Atlas of New Nature understands itself as a bridge between art and science (2). Although she refers to Aristotle’s attribution to art of the “emergence, development and contemplation” of the phenomena of life, and sees its origin in “the process of producing rather than in describing what is produced,” and conversely attributes to nature that which “by necessity exists or comes to exist,” and therefore has its origin in itself (3), her work demonstrates the consequences of the dissolution of these traditional concepts: a “new nature” is what it is all about, the human ability to produce life on its own. As an “atlas,” this cycle develops a new “cartography” of the previously separate domains of nature, science, and art. And once again, a boundary has been “suspended…”

The linear structure of the forms on the pages of Ute Pleuger’s Atlas recalls the construction of her earlier architectural images. These were normative, geometrical forms, standardized “construction elements” unrelated to time or space, but here, in the cycle Atlas of New Nature, the free invention of new forms dominates, seemingly “organically” grown, natural structures, which in the serial process of painting take on plasticity, individuation, and illusory corporeality, and seem to have a life of their own. The space of the work becomes an “exhibition platform” for these objects of a systematized and classified nature, exemplified in the botanical collections of the art and curiosity collections from the 16th century on.

With the fictitious Latin nomenclature that Ute Pleuger grants to her newly created species, she brings her work into relationship with the system of naming new species developed by Linnaeus in 1735. Labels like Ovum aeternale, Turbo generalis or Monitor moralis refer to archetypal original forms of cellular life, but also refer analogically to recent inventions of technology and media in our information society. The multiplicity of morphological variants in Ute Pleuger’s painted worlds allows historical parallels with Ernst Haeckel’s seminal study Art Forms in Nature (1904), which underpinned Darwin’s investigation of the origin of species, achieved great popularity as a scientific document and influenced the style of Art Nouveau in painting, design, and architecture(4). But unlike Haeckel, who derived all natural forms from symmetrical crystalline structures, and translated them into a merely ornamental, static artificiality, Ute Pleuger, in her analogous art, shows images of the “new nature” as an open-ended process of “a world as a self-producing work of art” (5), constantly renewing and inventing itself.

From the catalogue: Landschaft(en), Staatliche Galerie Moritzburg Halle (Saale 2003), ISBN 3-86105-122-2
Translated by Robert Ball, Minneapolis
Back to cataloguesBack to picturesBack to biography
Monitor moralis from Atlas of New Nature

Monitor moralis from Atlas of New Nature · 2001

(1) Cf. Ute Pleuger’s essay in Suspension, catalog of the City Gallery of Bietigheim-Bissingen, 1997, pp. 3–7.
(2) Ute Pleuger, Atlas of New Nature, catalog of the exhibit at the Richard-Haizmann Museum Neubuell, Berlin, 2003, p. 5.
(3) Ibid.
(4) Ernst Haeckel, Art Forms in Nature (Kunstformen der Natur), first edition, Bibliographisches Institut, Leipzig and Vienna, 1904; reprint, Munich and New York, 1998.
(5) Friedrich Nietzsche, Unpublished Work 1885–86, critical scholarly edition, ed. Giorgio Colli and Mazzino Montinari, Munich 1999, volume 12, p. 119.

Barbara Straka: Kunstformen der Neuen Natur

„Wann wäre je Natur im Bilde abgethan?“
— Nietzsche

Mit den Titeln Die Aufhebung (Wiepersdorfer Landschaften, 1996–97) und Atlas zur Neuen Natur (2000–01) bezeichnet Ute Pleuger zwei chronologisch aufeinander folgende, umfangreiche Zyklen ihres Werks. Während sie in der zweiten Hälfte der 1990er Jahre ihren Zyklus Serielle Räume – „Stadtlandschaften“ aus standardisierten Architekturmotiven eines Bauens und Wohnens aus der Retorte, gestempelte Rasterbilder und gemalte Pattern – abschließt, wendet sich Ute Pleuger zunächst dem Genre des Landschaftsbildes (Die Aufhebung) zu, kehrt aber in ihrer jüngsten Werkentwicklung mit der Arbeit am Atlas zu den prototypischen Einzelformen zurück. Ihr Formenrepertoire entwickelt sie jetzt nicht mehr aus der „gebauten Welt“ der Architektur, sondern aus den Bauformen der Natur.

Die in Wiepersdorf entstandenen Landschaften – in der Folge des Zyklus etwa dreihundert Blätter – erzählen von einer meditativ intensiven und neuen Erfahrung der Natur, die sich mehr in inneren Bildern als in abbildhafter Wiedergabe spiegelt: flächige, in Hell- und Dunkelzonen streng geteilte Kompositionen mit der Anmutung großer Ruhe und Tiefe, ans Gegenstandslose grenzend. Unendliche Leere dominiert, soweit das Auge reicht, Raum und Zeit fallen ineins. Die Gleichförmigkeit des malerischen Duktus hat die Rasterstrukturen der früheren Einzelformen ersetzt. Mit minimalistischen Mitteln, schmalen Licht- und Dunkelzonen an den Rändern der Flächen, wird räumliche Illusion im Bild erzeugt, werden im Betrachter Erinnerungen an Gesehenes evoziert: Landschaften, die nach Topologie, Bewuchs, Nutzung, Jahres- und Tageszeit kategorisiert werden wollen. Orte ohne Orientierung. Die räumliche Ordnung ist aufgehoben, denn nach den strengen Raster- und Reihenkompositionen ihrer früheren Architekturen erschließt sich Ute Pleuger mit diesen Landschaftsbildern neue Horizonte: Erweiterungen des Bildraumes und der Bildthemen. Die Wahl des Titels Die Aufhebung – an Thomas Bernhards Roman Die Auslöschung erinnernd –, legt zugleich intuitiv Zeugnis ab vom Zweifel am überkommenen Gattungsbegriff des Landschaftsbildes in der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Damit markiert Ute Pleuger Horizonte am Ende von Natur und Kunst (1), die nur in einem umfassenderen Begriff von Natur als Sujet der Malerei aufgehoben und überwunden sein können.

Diesen Schritt vollzieht Ute Pleuger mit der Arbeit am Zyklus zum Atlas zur Neuen Natur, der seit Beginn des Jahres 2000 entsteht: An die Stelle der tiefenräumlich komponierten „Leere“ der Landschaft tritt der zweidimensionale Raum. Jetzt füllen plastisch herausgearbeitete, serielle Einzelformen die Bildflächen, phantastischen Mikroorganismen vergleichbar, neu entdeckte Grundbausteine vorzeitlichen oder zukünftigen Lebens. Der Variantenreichtum der Formfindung scheint unerschöpflich: Spiralen und Knoten, Kopffüßler und Einzeller, Vierfüßler, Fadenwürmer, Schnecken, Schlauch- und Kugelwesen. In diesen hundertfachen Hervorbringungen einer „Neuen Natur“ mittels Kunst, liegt Utopisches wie auch Bedrohliches, das in skurriler, noch unbekannter Gestalt daherkommt. Immer neue Gattungen und Mutationen entstehen, ergreifen wie Armeen die Bildwelten. Kein Wesen gleicht dem anderen, doch scheint jedes seinen immanenten Bauplan zu kennen, einer bestimmten Formwerdung zu folgen, seiner künstlerischen „DNA“. Sie entsprechen keinem äußeren Bild der Naturanschauung, sondern sind künstlich bzw. künstlerisch erzeugte, „zweite Natur“. Kreationen einer erfolgreichen Versuchsanordnung? Nur findet dieser Prozess nicht im Labor, sondern im Atelier statt. Spätestens hier wird anschaulich, wie schmal nur noch die Trennlinie zwischen „künstlich“ und „künstlerisch“, zwischen Kunst und (Natur)wissenschaft ist.

Es ist kein Zufall, dass dieser Atlas zur Neuen Natur von Ute Pleuger zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts entsteht, das mit den bahnbrechenden Entdeckungen und Erzeugungen der Biotechnologie, dem Entstehen der Bioethik und der Entschlüsselung des menschlichen Genoms begann. Eine Herausforderung, der Naturwissenschaftler und Geisteswissenschaften gemeinsam begegnen müssen. Auch in der Kunst kündigt sich ein Paradigmenwechsel an, in dem das Primat der „Geschichte“ in ihrer Bedeutung für die Kunst der letzten beiden Dekaden des 20. Jahrhunderts abgelöst wird vom Primat der „Natur“. An ihr muss sich die Kunst neu messen, zu ihr in Beziehung setzen. Exemplarisch hierfür steht der Begriff der „Nachhaltigkeit“, das Postulat der Einheit von Ökologie und Ökonomie. Die Erzeugung von Natur (Genesis) im Sinne von göttlicher Schöpfung und ihre Wiedergabe (Mimesis) im Sinne von künstlerischer Nachschöpfung ist nicht mehr Privileg von Religion und Kunst, sondern reale Möglichkeit der Wissenschaft. Was Goethe sich in der Faust-Dichtung noch mit dem im Reagenzglas erzeugten Homunculus erträumte („Was man an der Natur Geheimnisvolles pries, / Das wagen wir verständig zu probieren, / Und was sie sonst organisieren ließ, / Das lassen wir kristallisieren“) – mit dem ersten geklonten Lebewesen zu Beginn eines neuen Jahrtausends wurde es Realität.

Ute Pleugers Zyklus Atlas zur Neuen Natur versteht sich als „Brücke zwischen Kunst und Naturwissenschaft“ (2). Wenngleich sie mit Bezug auf Aristoteles der Kunst das „Entstehen, Erproben und Betrachten“ der Phänomene des Lebens zuschreibt und ihren „Ursprung im Hervorbringenden und nicht im Hervorgebrachten“ sieht, der Natur hingegen jedes Phänomen, das „aus Notwendigkeit ist oder wird“, also seinen „Ursprung in sich selbst“ hat (3), belegt ihr Werk auch die Konsequenz einer Auflösung dieser traditioneller Begrifflichkeiten: Von einer „Neuen Natur“ ist die Rede, dem menschlichen Vermögen, selbst Leben hervorzubringen. Als „Atlas“ entwirft der Zyklus eine neue „Kartographie“ der einst getrennten, heute vereinten Territorien von Natur, Wissenschaft und Kunst. Ein weiteres Mal hat sich die „Aufhebung“ einer Grenze vollzogen. …

Die Reihenstrukturen der Formen auf den Blättern des Atlas erinnern an den Aufbau der früheren Architekturbilder Ute Pleugers. Ging es hier um genormte, geometrische Form, standardisierte „Baukörper“ ohne Beziehung zu Raum und Zeit, so dominieren im Zyklus Atlas zur Neuen Natur freie Formfindungen, scheinbar „organisch gewachsene“, natürliche Strukturen, die im seriellen Malprozess an Plastizität, Differenziertheit und illusionistischer Körperlichkeit gewinnen und ein „Eigenleben“ zu führen scheinen. Der Bildraum dient als „Anschauungstafel“ für die „Sammlerobjekte“ systematisierter und klassifizierter Natur, deren Vorbild in den botanischen Sammlungen der Kunst- und Wunderkammern seit dem 16. Jahrhundert zu finden ist.

Ute Pleuger bezieht sich mit den fiktiven lateinischen Namen, die sie ihren neu geschaffenen Gattungen verleiht, auf die um 1735 von Carl von Linné durchgeführten Benennungen zur Kategorisierung der Lebensformen. Bezeichnungen wie Ovum aeternale, Turbo generalis oder Monitor moralis verweisen auf archetypische Urformen des Lebens (Eizelle) wie auch auf Analogien zu Erfindungen der Technik- und Medienwelt in der Informationsgesellschaft. Die Vielfalt morphologischer Figurationen der Bildwelten von Ute Pleuger erlaubt schließlich historische Parallelen zu Ernst Haeckels epochalem Werk Kunstformen der Natur (1904), das Darwins Untersuchung zur Entstehung der Arten untermauerte, als naturwissenschaftliches Dokument große Popularität erlangte und stilbildend für die Art Nouveau in Kunst, Design und Architektur wirkte (4). Doch anders als Haeckel, der alle Naturformen aus kristallinen Symmetriestrukturen ableitete und in eine ornamentalisierte, starre Künstlichkeit überführte, zeigt Ute Pleuger im Analogon ihrer Kunst Bilder jener „Neuen Natur“ als offenen Prozess einer sich ständig selbst erneuernden und neu erfindenden „Welt als ein sich selbst gebärendes Kunstwerk“ (5).

aus dem Katalog: Landschaft(en), Staatliche Galerie Moritzburg Halle (Saale 2003), ISBN 3-86105-122-2 (Gekürzte Fassung im Katalog)
Zurück zur KatalogübersichtZurück zum BildteilZurück zur Biografie
 Monitor moralis aus dem Atlas zur Neuen Natur

Monitor moralis aus dem Atlas zur Neuen Natur · 2001

(1) Vgl. dazu den Beitrag d. Verf. in: Ute Pleuger, Die Aufhebung, Katalog der Städtischen Galerie Bietigheim-Bissingen, 1997, S. 3 – 7
(2) Ute Pleuger, in: Atlas zur Neuen Natur, Ausstellungskatalog des Richard-Haizmann-Museums Niebüll, Berlin 2003, S. 5
(3) ebd.
(4) Ernst Haeckel, Kunstformen der Natur, Erstausgabe: Bibliographisches Institut, Leipzig und Wien 1904, Nachdruck München und New York 1998
(5) Friedrich Nietzsche, Nachlass 1885/86, Kritische Studienausgabe, hrsg. von Giorgio Colli und Mazzino Montinari, München 1999, Bd. 12, S. 119