In the Mood for Art and Teaching

Questions by Rike Zoebelein to Prof. Ute Pleuger on the occasion of the exhibit Ten Years Class of Ute Pleuger at the Bayer Kulturhaus in Leverkusen in 2010

Rike Zoebelin: Dear Ms. Pleuger—you celebrated last year the 10 years of your painting class. Congratulations! You can be proud of the fact that many of your students have become established in the art market. What, in your opinion, has changed in the 10 years since you began as a professor of art?

Ute Pleuger: The class which I took over in 1999 was mainly from the local area. I opened it up for students from the entire world, who nowadays make up a third of the class. Through a new concept of teaching, with work discussions in groups and several class events and excursions I have brought about an ongoing debate on art within the class, which has contributed significantly to the cohesion of the group and the progress and individuation of the individual students. Commitment and discretion have been important factors in my collaboration with the students. Individual consultations as well, in which important personal matters relevant to their work can be discussed, form an essential ingredient of the painting major and master’s programs.

Before I was invited to teach at the Burg its painting class hardly made an impression beyond the region. Halle was not considered, for example in Berlin, a place for a good program in painting. That has changed. Now there are, besides the class exhibits, a good many individual exhibitions and participations in exhibits, which—mostly in close collaboration with me—came about through the students’ initiative. In the meantime we can now look back on several fellowships and prizes, and we are proud of our seven fellows of the “Study Foundation of the German People”. Moreover we enjoy increasing interest from cultural institutions, press, and television. Not to mention the flood of applications: last year we had over 120 applying for only 5 places.

RZ: What do you recommend to beginning painters: Which qualities must one have in order to study painting?

UP: Artistic talent, readiness to dialog, persistence.

RZ: How do you rate the current state of the German universities of the arts? What is positive and what needs improvement?

UP: Art does not happen according to a calendar. I hope that the German universities of the arts can continue to succeed in resisting the pressures trending to regimentation and academic uniformity in the Bachelor’s and Master’s programs. We are already swamped with examinations—and that in a field in which judging talent by grades and points is fundamentally problematic. And future artistic success has nothing to do with one’s grades at the university!

But also, the pressure of the art market should be kept at a distance from the university. The students are confronted far too early with questions about their positioning and their strategies for material success. It is only natural that they are concerned about the potential sale of their works during their studies, for their life circumstances are often characterized by urgent financial needs given the scarcity of fellowships. That is not however productive for their studies. For even a modest financial success wants to be repeated and with that, the student’s artistic development can come to a halt. In art, and especially in the study of art, it is not about creating products, but about intellectual freedom and deregulation.

RZ: In your opinion, what is the most important part of teaching?

UP: The guidance toward self-criticism and mental independence.

RZ: What are the greatest challenges for the students in your class? Where should they be supported and promoted the most?

UP: The lack of orientation in the art world reflects that of the society at large. I am thinking of the longstanding debate about values and the loss of standards. But art can itself represent orientation. This realization is actually quite simple, but it does not occur spontaneously. To guide the students on their way to this realization is in my opinion one of the most important supports.

RZ: Your work and your involvement with the art of painting inspires your students, but do they inspire YOUR work?

UP: No.

RZ: What would you like your students to take with them when they leave?

UP: Everything that I know and that I can do.

RZ: We are happy to have the exhibit of your class at the Bayer Kulturhaus in Leverkusen. Thank you very much.

from UNSTstoff—the Bayer Culture Magazine, No. 5, 2010, pp. 12–13
Back to teachingBack to biography

Lust auf Kunst und Lehre

Fragen von Rike Zoebelein an Prof. Ute Pleuger anläßlich der Ausstellung Zehn Jahre Klasse Ute Pleuger im Bayer Kulturhaus Leverkusen 2010

Rike Zoebelin: Liebe Frau Pleuger – Sie haben im vergangenen Jahr das 10-jährige Bestehen der Klasse Ute Pleuger gefeiert. Gratulation! Sie können stolz darauf sein, dass sich viele Ihrer Studenten inzwischen auf dem Kunstmarkt etabliert haben.
Was hat sich Ihrer Meinung nach in den 10 Jahren im Vergleich zu Ihren Anfängen als Kunstprofessorin gewandelt?

Ute Pleuger: Die Klasse, die ich 1999 übernahm, war vor allem regional geprägt. Ich habe sie geöffnet für Studierende aus aller Welt, die heute ein Drittel der Klasse ausmachen. Durch ein neues Lehrkonzept mit Arbeitsbesprechungen in der Gruppe und zahlreichen Klassenveranstaltungen und Exkursionen habe ich eine permanente klasseninterne Debatte über Kunst in Gang gebracht, die nicht unwesentlich zum Zusammenhalt der Gruppe und zu Fortschritt und Ausdifferenzierung der Einzelnen beigetragen hat. Wichtig für die Zusammenarbeit mit den Studierenden sind mir darüber hinaus Verbindlichkeit und Diskretion. So ist die Einzelkonsultation, in der auch die für die Arbeit häufig sehr wichtigen persönlichen Dinge besprochen werden können, ein wesentlicher Bestandteil vor allem des Haupt- und Meisterschülerstudiums.

Vor meiner Berufung an die Burg trat die Malerei kaum überregional in Erscheinung. Halle war – beispielsweise in Berlin – kein Begriff für ein gutes Malereistudium. Das hat sich geändert. Inzwischen gibt es neben Klassenausstellungen eine Fülle von Einzelausstellungen oder Ausstellungsbeteiligungen, die – zumeist in enger Rücksprache mit mir – auf Initiative der Studierenden selbst zustande gekommen sind. Mittlerweile können wir auf zahlreiche Stipendien und Preise zurückblicken und sind stolz auf sieben Stipendiaten der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes. Außerdem erfreuen wir uns zusehends der bundesweiten Beachtung durch Kulturinstitutionen, Presse und Fernsehen. Ganz zu schweigen von der Flut von Bewerbungen: im letzten Jahr waren es über 120 auf fünf Studienplätze.

RZ: Was empfehlen Sie dem „Nachwuchs“ – welche Voraussetzungen muss man mitbringen, wenn man sich für ein Kunststudium entscheidet?

UP: Künstlerische Begabung, Dialogbereitschaft, Stehvermögen

RZ: Wie beurteilen Sie derzeit die deutsche Kunsthochschulenlandschaft? Was ist positiv? Was ist verbesserungswürdig?

UP: Kunst entsteht nicht nach Stundenplan. Ich hoffe, dass es den deutschen Kunsthochschulen weiterhin gelingt, sich gegen den Trend zur Reglementierung und Verschulung durch Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge zu stemmen. Schon jetzt werden wir überzogen mit Prüfungen – und das in einem Metier, dessen Bewertung in Noten oder Punkten grundsätzlich problematisch ist. Im Übrigen ist es für den späteren künstlerischen Erfolg völlig unerheblich, welche Noten man in der Hochschule erhalten hat.

Aber auch der Druck des Marktes sollte von den Kunsthochschulen fern gehalten werden. Viel zu früh werden die Studierenden mit Fragen nach der eigenen Position und nach Strategien für deren Verwertbarkeit konfrontiert. Daß sie sich schon während des Studiums um den Verkauf ihrer Arbeiten bemühen, kann man den Studierenden nicht verdenken. Denn ihre Lebensumstände sind mangels ausreichender Stipendien zum Teil geprägt von erdrückenden finanziellen Bedingungen. Ihrem Studium aber ist das nicht förderlich. Denn auch bescheidener finanzieller Erfolg will natürlich wiederholt werden, und dann bleibt die künstlerische Entwicklung leicht auf der Strecke. In der Kunst und erst recht im Studium geht es aber nicht um Warenproduktion, sondern um geistige Deregulierung.

RZ: Was ist Ihrer Meinung nach der wichtigste Teil in der Lehre?

UP: Anleitung zu Selbstkritik und innerer Unabhängigkeit

RZ: Was sind die größten Herausforderungen für die jungen Studierenden in Ihrer Klasse? Wo sollten sie am stärksten unterstützt und gefördert werden?

UP: Die Orientierungslosigkeit des Kunstbetriebs spiegelt die Orientierungslosigkeit der Gesellschaft wider. Ich denke an die schon lange nicht mehr neue Wertedebatte und den Verlust von Maßstäben. Demgegenüber kann die Kunst selbst Orientierung sein. Diese Erkenntnis ist im Grunde einfach. Aber sie erschließt sich nicht immer ohne weiteres. Die Studierenden auf dem Weg zu dieser Erkenntnis zu unterstützen, ist meines Erachtens eine der größten Förderungen.

RZ: Ihre Arbeit und Ihre Auseinandersetzung mit Bildender Kunst inspiriert Ihre Studenten – inspirieren diese auch Ihre Arbeit?

UP: Nein.

RZ: Was möchten Sie Ihren Studenten mit auf den Weg geben?

UP: Alles was ich weiß und kann.

RZ: Wir freuen uns schon sehr auf die Ausstellung Ihrer Klasse im Bayer Kulturhaus. Herzlichen Dank.

aus: KUNSTstoff — Das Bayer Kultur-Magazin #05 2010, Seite 12–13

Zurück zur LehreZurück zur Biografie